BMX cranks on a Mountin bike?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2006

BMX cranks on a Mountin bike?

Does anybody have any experience with BMX cranks on a MTB bike? I am thinking about trying to put on a set of Primo cranks/euro bottom bracket with a BMX bash guard on a Yeti ASX.

mtbr member
    I have Profiles on both of mine and they work good! They are a little harder to set up but once in never need anything!

Pro Crastinator
    almost everyone in my crew runs bmx cranks on our bikes, i've been doing it for many years because i used to destroy the old square tapers in a matter of weeks. made the switch to bmx cranks on my mtb back in the early 90's and have never looked back...

mtbr member
    Nov 2006
    Sounds great- what sprokets are you guys running, how many teeth?
    thanks

mtbr member
    36 for the former HT and 38 for the DH ride both are PROFILES I have their 5 ring adapter on there to run an EVIL giude!!

conjoinicorned
    i run a true BMX chainwheel/sprocket, at 36t. many BMX cranks have a spider so you can use a normal MTB chainring.

chainwheels are sexy...
    what would rainbow unicorn do?

mtbr member
    Nov 2006
    what about the chain any problems with a 9speed moutian bike chain on a BMX sproket?

I dont know why people dont run this type of set-up instead of weak, creaky moutain bike scranks & sporkets

dirt rules
    25T guardsprocket in front and a 12 in the back.

conjoinicorned
    Quote Originally Posted by nikodj01
    what about the chain any problems with a 9speed moutian bike chain on a BMX sproket?

I dont know why people dont run this type of set-up instead of weak, creaky moutain bike scranks & sporkets
    can't use a 9spd chain on a sprocket, gotta use at least a 1/8" chain (mtb or bmx). even better a 1/4" BMX chain, it'll outlast your frame...

mtbr member
    Nov 2006
    What are you running as far as the rear end goes cassette / or single spees
    Yeah I have a moped type chain on my BMX bike - not breaking it