Which bike?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Which bike?

mtbr member
    Apr 2005

Which bike?

I am a newb and wanted to do some DH and be able to ride up some hills. I thought that I knew what I wanted but there are so many bikes to choose from I don't know where to even start. Here is where I am at. I have narrowed it down to a few bikes.
    Norco
    VPS Shore
    Six
    Santa Cruz
    Bullit (6” or 7”)
    VP-Free (8.5” Travel)
    Kona
    Stinky Dee-Lux
    Scott
    Nitrous 20
    Nitrous SL 22
    Titus
    Super-moto
    Giant
    Faith 1 or 2
    DH Comp
    AC-1
    Devinci
    Ollie
    8-Flat-8
    If you could give me some info one just one or two of the bikes that might help me choose which one I would greatly appreciate it. I want a bike that will last for at least two years with minimal replacements. Don't want to buy more than the bike right at the start except maybe tires or grips. And don't expect to race any time soon. I live in SocCal but want to be able to go big in Mammoth, Brian Head, etc. without worrying about breaking anything except myself.

mtbr member
    Jan 2005
    whats your budget

mtbr member
    Apr 2005

As of now?

As of now my budget is around under 2k but I can get any bike at cost.

mtbr member
    Apr 2005

Just frame

Does the Banshee sell just the frame only or a complete bike. If it is just the frame how much would it cost to finish the bike with quality parts (good shock maybe the Fox 40R?, the rest of the parts just need to get me home)? Otherwise it seems like a good bike.

That's my name
    Quote Originally Posted by wheelman
    I have narrowed it down to a few bikes.

A few??
    That's alot of frickin bikes dude!!!
    Surely you can narrow it down a bit, i mean you must have a preference for at least 1 or 2 of them! Even if it is just down to looks.