Big drops, big guys, and air shocks.- Mtbr.com
    Wannabe

Big drops, big guys, and air shocks.

So I'm 6'3" and 200# (maybe 215 with my gear and pack). I have no experience on a full suspension bike. But I'm slowing putting a list together to build either a FR or a DH bike.

I'm interested in air shocks for the for the ablity to adjust them quickly and easly by just changing the pressure, and I've heard that they perform very close to the same as coil shocks. However I've also heard that for heavier riders they actually don't perform as well as coil shocks.

So I have 2 questions. Is that true? Does it apply to forks as well as rear shocks?
    Last edited by Hobblyjig; 07-05-2011 at 01:33 PM.

mtbr member
    for downhill air shocks are bad
    they ramp up with heat and it's hard to control rebound on jumps. coil is way better. front and rear

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    Look at the RockShox Vivid Air

Wannabe
    Hot Rod
    Your suspension should never fade before you do—that’s why we developed Hot Rod to build fade-free performance into the new Vivid Air and updated Vivid rear shocks. A RockShox-tuned thermoplastic resin core in the adjuster rod expands when your shock heats up, resulting in consistent rebound force no matter how long or aggressive the descent.
    Ya, supposedly the Vivid Air has built in compensation for the heat issue, but that doesn't answer my question about handling my weight.

mtbr member
    I weigh 200 and the coil is much better. It seems that 99% of dh bikes I see at northstar and whistler are coil sprung

mtbr member
    You dont weight that much. Your weight isnt a consideration in the air vs coil debate.

Uphill? What's that