Basic skills for freeride- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2004

Basic skills for freeride

hi, my virgin post and I guess this is the best place to put it under

I've been riding road, xc since 1996 and decided to get with the freeride program at a pretty late age, I'm 23.

Anyway, I'm gonna take delivery of a 2005 Kona Stinky at US$1350 soon (yup, bikes are that cheap in Asia). What would you guys say are the most basic skills for freeride that I should practise first before attempting to do the "harder" stuff.

i've read/heard bad things about the stock Drop Off triple on the Stinky, should i stump up the extra US$250 for the Jr T then (considering I'm a beginner) ?

mtbr member
    well about the DOT as far as last year it had the same dampening as the JR T, just an iinch less travel. So im geussing for this year its basicly a junior t ( 20mm axle, 7") with a different name and graphics to save some money for the bike.

For freeriding, id definitely say to learn to jump, its an important skill. And also just keep practicing drops and all things involving balance.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mouse
    what were is gnarcal

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    JR. T isnt much better than the DOT. If you really want to progress, get a super T. However, be aware that once you get a nicer DC fork, you wont be able to trai lride as well as usual. These forks are made for drops, not rock gardens. To progress your skills, buy a book, or ask around here. A lot of people here are seasoned freeriders, and most of us are pretty helpful.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    If you are coming from a road background you will not be used to riding standing up with the seat dropped. Get used to flat pedals, you don't want clipless for learning freeriding.
    Those are the two things to master before moving on to stunts, etc.
    That fork is fine.

mtbr member
    Jun 2004
    Some of the most basic skills you'll need are the ability to wheelie, brake, stall, and bunnyhop.