Any One had this problem when they started learning?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2010

New question here. Any One had this problem when they started learning?

Did anyone have the mental reaction of letting go of the bars when you stated biking? When I hit jumps and drops from my roof on my GT I always let go of the sled...... it also happened to me when I started riding free ride.................

18 years old
    Feb 2005
    I had the problem of never letting go. I'd be sliding across the ground holding onto the bike still!

Don't jump off your roof...
    Quote Originally Posted by irieness
    ...it's just that when I'm wondering what things are like head tube, seat post, cranks, flux capacitor, SS, FS, hardtail...

Moose Member
    I have the problem of not letting go too, Deadly, did you ever get over not being able to let go? im afraid its going to get me hurt some day...

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Moosey
    I have the problem of not letting go too, Deadly, did you ever get over not being able to let go? im afraid its going to get me hurt some day...

OT from OP's topic but I have the same problem, not sure if it's in quite the same way. Mine seems to be more on over confidence in bringing back a crashing bike. I've gotten better though. Mostly just better judgement and not over estimating one's ability.

But this problem has hurt me. 2 Dislocated elbows, separate incidents a few years apart. Holding on until it's too late is a bad habit!
    About buying a bike:
    Quote Originally Posted by No MSG
    It's like finding a wife. Personality is important, but you gotta look at that face every morning.

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    Might as well give the bar a spin while you're dropping

Underskilled
    OMG never had that issue, so so happy I didnt
    Why would I care about 150g of bike weight, I just ate 400g of cookies while reading this?

mtbr member
    Oct 2010