Am I Too Small for a Large?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2005

Am I Too Small for a Large?

I have been riding a medium Trek Liquid for the past 2 years, until I rented an Enduro out in Moab, and a Med Schwinn before that. The bike shop recommended I ride a large, and to my surprise I really liked it. We visit Moab atleast once a year, and on trails that I know well (pritchett canyon and porcupine rim, for instance) the bike felt a lot more stable and confidence inspiring, especially at high speeds on rough jeep roads and ledgy descents, and after two days I was dead set on buying a large frame for my next bike. Well, it's spring 07 and I'm going to buy an Intense Uzzi VPX or a Spec SX Trail. Thing is, I'm only 5'10" and 150lbs, so am I way outside a large in either of these bikes?

Meh.
    It depends on the bike, and rider preference. Some people like bigger bikes, some people like smaller bikes. That said, if I were you, I wouldn't be very comfortable on a large, though it is doable. I prefer smaller bikes though.

mtbr member
    im 5'10'' and 155...and my dh bike is a small, i would definately go with a medium cause i just cant see how you can ride a large...

Meh.
    A bike is worthless if it doesn't fit you right. You'll be uncomfortable and inefficient, and you won't enjoy yourself when you ride.

Only you can tell whether or not a bike fits you right.

mtbr member
    Yeah, 5'10" is usually a medium. Maybe the bike you rented runs small or the shop was just out of medium rentals when you came by.
    Can't keep track anymore - Giant, Santa Cruz, Pivot, Yeti, Norco, Salsa, Intense - if it rolls on dirt I like it :thumbsup:

mtbr member
    well said just get out there and try some stuff out and be sure your comfortable cause your throwing down some seriouse money for something your going to have for a good amount of time..

me jumping bflo
    it depends if you fell comfertable on it.
    PHIB
    I Suck at spelling