Are 66s overated?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2004

Are 66s overated?

Can anybody, who has had experience , tell me how the 66s perform. I am torn between that and the new Shermans. The Fox 36 has 36 mm stanchions, Does that really improve handling all that much? How is the damping on the Fox and fork seals, too?

locked - time out
    I realize that you are not asking about the Shermans - but I've got to put in my .02 on them - I have been riding them for the last 2 years and love them - they have performed better / lasted longer than any other fork I have ridden (particularly my Marz. DJ 1 & Z1) not to knock Marzocchi - I've just been very happy with the 3 Shermans I have had.

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by LycraLizard
    Can anybody, who has had experience , tell me how the 66s perform. I am torn between that and the new Shermans. The Fox 36 has 36 mm stanchions, Does that really improve handling all that much? How is the damping on the Fox and fork seals, too?
    You are asking about the marzocchi 66, right? I have had one for a couple of weeks now, no problems until now of course! The problem is I have not ridden any comparable fork before, but I can tell you it is very plush as in marzocchi-plush and it reacts to the smallest bumps as marz always have. It is very stiff and steers where you want it to. It is heavy and it makes for a high front end. But I found it is quite ok to go uphill with it as long as you stay seated, not all that much bobbing. So no complaints so far. I think it is a great fork...

T.Dot Represent
    " reacts to the smallest bumps as marz always have"

my shitty DJ3 and all other SSVor SSVF dampened forks never react to small bumps!!! if u get a 66 get the right one, get the RC cuz u dotn want to et stuck with this!
    fiiiiiiiiiiiinchizzzzzzzzzzle

mtbr member

66's rule!

Quote Originally Posted by stefT