07 RM Slayer SXC 50 vs 07 Kona Coiler Deluxe- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

07 RM Slayer SXC 50 vs 07 Kona Coiler Deluxe

I want to start this out by saying I'm new to the whole Mountain bike thing. I ride BMX and race dirt bikes in the desert. So I have the bike handling skills and know how to ride on the dirt With that being said, Jenson bikes (my local shop) is sell both the 07 Rocky Mountain Slayer SXC 50 and the Kona Coiler Deluxe both for $1900 and wonder which would be a better bike. Im 6'3' bout 190 lbs. Im looking something that is AM slash FR. I think to start with I'm not going to be doing to gnarly of stuff but within a few months I could see myself doing fast desends and drops. Im only 22 so I'll probally be doing some stupid stuff and be over confident. I saw the coiler deluxe has the ETA which I hear can be almost better than locking out your suspention when climbing. I really do want a bike that will take a good beating. Im leaning a little more to the desending side then the climbing. But im gunna have to go up to come down. My buddy I will be riding with just bought a 07 Giant Riegn 1 if that helps at all. (but hes also a roady....)
    What do you think? SXC or coiler. (or poss other) Thank you.

ups and downs
    The Kona Coiler is a bit more FR oriented than the SXC. I have a 2007 SXC and it is a bit more toward the XC side of All Mountain than the 2006 Slayer 50/70 models, which were light freeride bikes. If you picture yourself going bigger and gnarlier, the Kona is likely the better choice. If you were looking at a 2007 Slayer 50, it would be a bit tougher choice.

mtbr member
    Ya I wish they had the Slayer 50 bike at Jenson on sale. They only have the 07 Slayer 30 tho....

mtbr member
    Jan 2004