mtbr member
    Aug 2010

Tire set-up for hillybilly roubaix

I'm still debating whether I am racing on my SS mtb or on my cross bike with a 1x10 for my first race like this. If I race the cross bike I am planning to get some decent gravel tires, the biggest I can fit in there as the best I have now is 33mm maxxis raze. The problem is tubeless is not an optikn for the rear wheel right now. I have a tubeless ready 29er rim up front but the rear is a crappy novatech wheel that is narrow and not tubeless ready. I can't afford a new wheel most likely prior to the race.

So with something like the 38mm challenge gravel grinders, kenda flintridge 35mm, or panaracer gravel king sk 35mm....

Do I scour the earth for latex tubes in 35mm size, run 28mm latex tubes, or run butyl tubes? I do not want to have to worry about flats!

I like turtles
    You can always run sealant in your tubes.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2018 Niner RKT 9 RDO - enduro AF

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    SS Mtb would be my first choice. Tubeless of course. Make sure your drafting game is strong though. Otherwise I would highly recommend tubeless for sure if you are gonna use cross bike. Bigger is better for tires. 40s probably best if they fit.

Why so uptite?
    Dec 2005
    Just run what you have! The only suggestion I would make is to add some Sealant to your tubes As a backup. Otherwise just go have fun! If you really enjoy it then work on saving some $ fir a better tubeless setup, otherwise don't waste $$ right now.
    Collection of fun carbon & titanium bikes

@tgi_cycling

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    I don't think I can fit 40mm tires, at least not ones that measure out wider than advertised. Some guys have run 40mm nano's, but I've heard others could not. It's a Transition Rapture.