need help with bike build..i am a newbie!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2010

need help with bike build..i am a newbie!

Hi all, I have decided to build a cyclocross from the ground up as it seems to be the perfect commuter bike for me (I hate the skinny tired road bikes and mtn bikes are just to heavy )..but i need some advice as I would like to keep some mtb features like a flat road bar( I have a ritchey carbon ) and I also want to use my existing 9 speed shimano deore XT rear derailleur and front shifter as well as mtb brake levers with cantilever brakes....can this be done and what type of brake levers should I get??)....i also want to go 1 X 9 but am not sure what size front ring /crankset would fit my needs.(i want to get a specilaized tri-cross that s available on ebay).. lastly, I want reasonably light weight wheelset that won't break my bank account ($500) that will accept fairly wide tires (noting less than 38mm)....any help would be most appreciated thanks.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    It's hard to tell what you actually have and what you actually need...

It looks like you have XT shifters (front and rear), derailluers and cassette (assuming 9 speed). I'm assuming that you have a MTB crankset w/BB as well. If you have this stuff, you can use most, if not all of it. If you have a MTB crankset, that will give you a taste for what gearing will work. My guess is that you'll find yourself in the big ring mostly - especially since you're likely running a wide range MTB cassette. You may be forced to go 1x9 because your existing front derailleur may not fit the new frame.

For brakes, you can do either Canti or V-Brakes. Just make sure that the levers are compatible with the brakes that you get. For $500, you can get a really nice set of wheels. I'd look for a nice hand built set, clinchers, box rims. Or maybe Ksyrium clinchers.