Crosscheck vs. Salsa Vaya- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2011

Crosscheck vs. Salsa Vaya

I'm torn between getting a Surly Crosscheck or a Salsa Vaya. The Surly has the price war won, but the Salsa has some nice components and discs (my preference). The two bikes have different geometry setups, but I'm no expert on that. I plan on using the bike for riding rough roads and touring. I'm 6'4" with a 35" inseam. Either bike in the 60 would fit with a long seat post. I'd probably go with the 62 cm Surly and 60 cm Salsa (more of a sloping top tube). Has anyone ridden both? If so, please share your thoughts. Thanks.

mtbr member
    I'd choose vaya all day for your purposes. While the cross check is a great(awesome) bike, it's not the best tourer, though capable, and potentially less comfortable for longer hours in the saddle, though a very comfortable indeed. The Vaya is designed to do what you want to do very well and more, the Cross Check is designed to do lots of things pretty well.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    You'll want the Vaya. Much better bike. The discs and longer wheelbase will help for touring and rough rides. It is a far better bike.

mtbr member
    Sep 2009
    I have both 2011 versions of the CC and the Vaya. No question, the Vaya is a much more comfortable bike and has a more mountain bike feel.

I prefer the feel of the Vaya. Not sure how to explain it other than to say I feel like I am sitting "on" the CC and I feel like I am sitting "in" the Vaya. In my opinion, the Vaya is by far the most well designed and comfortable bike I have ever ridden.

It really comes down to what you want and what you'll use it for. Both are pretty solid bikes.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    For touring, wouldn't the Long Haul Trucker be a better choice than the cross check? And at your height, it would be the 700c version so it would be more of an even comparison to the Vaya as well. Just tossing it out there as an idea.

mtbr member
    Sep 2009