XCL Question, is it right for me?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

XCL Question, is it right for me?

Ok so I've been lusting after a XCL for a few months. I've put together the cash required to basically build my dream bike.

So now that I've sold off most of my "extra" bike parts, and other stuff its time for the winter project. A Metallic Raspberry Large XCL, or so I'm thinking. Now that its time to lay down the cash I find myself with cold feet.

The type of riding I do is primarly trail riding with riders that are a whole heck of alot better than I am, but I'm slowly reeling them in speedwise. I ride right now more of a xc bike (salsa dos niner) but there are things I dont like about it and want something back in the 26" world.

After trail riding I run xc races here in the south east which is alot of tight twisty rocky single tracks with good climbs and fun descents. I'm hoping I can get the XCL in the 28# range, so what do you think, give a first time chumba guy a little bit of advise!

Thanks all!

Jeff

Trophy Husband
    Quote Originally Posted by monty797
    I'm hoping I can get the XCL in the 28# range, so what do you think, give a first time chumba guy a little bit of advise!

Thanks all!

Jeff
    Jeff

There are several XCL's on this forum built up at 28 lbs. I have my XCL built in the 32 lb neighborhood, but it's got a super burly build.

It's a killer bike.

Check your PM's.

cheers
    Extreme stationary biker.

mtbr member
    Reply sent, you've gotten my interest!

mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    The XCL is a do everything kind of bike. If youre mainly an xc guy and into
    racing, there are faster bikes out there. I switched from a purely xc bike to this bike for the pure fun factor and have no regrets. Im not doing rolling singletrack
    as fast as I did on my previous bike, but this is all around a much better bike.
    I can take it pretty much anywhere and know that the limiting factor will be me,
    not the bike.

mtbr member
    Jul 2007