Researching XCL, some questions- Mtbr.com
    Code Burr

Researching XCL, some questions

I cant find on the Chumba website where the manufacturing is done. I have an issue of MBA that reports they are made in California yet I just saw a later review that states Taiwan as the country of origin. Can anyone clarify where they are made?

I am currently riding a Turner Flux, 100m travel with a horst link rear. I was thinking of getting a 5 spot and a fried suggested the chumba xlt. Has anyone else made a similar switch and could offer some comparisons? I much prefer pivots to bearings, as they are lower maintenance and lighter. I had a jamis xlt briefly and the bearings would pop out of the pivots. Are the Chumba bearings pressed into the pivots on the XLT? Are they cartridge bearings? Are they easily replaceable or serviceable by the owner?

Thanks
    Toby

Nightriding rules SuperModerator
    IIRC, they were done in the US first and then production was moved overseas...

Code Burr
    That's a shame.

Trophy Husband
    Quote Originally Posted by thebronze
    That's a shame.
    You can still get US made frames. They are a few hundred bucks more than the outsourced frames.
    Extreme stationary biker.

mtbr member
    Are the Chumba bearings pressed into the pivots on the XLT? Are they cartridge bearings? Are they easily replaceable or serviceable by the owner?
    The XCL has cartridge bearings on all pivots that are pressed in. They are easily replaced if you have the proper tools. I just use a long bolt with some deep sockets as a press.

Code Burr
    Thanks, I'm still trying to decide between the XLT and a 5 spot. Turner has a trade in credit and the 2 bikes will cost about the same.

Older than I feel
    Aug 2006
    No need to worry, the offshore XCL is built very well, maybe better than the US frames. And no one in Anaheim lost their job when Chumba went offshore.

mtbr member