Question for Marin riders:- Mtbr.com

Apr 2006

Question for Marin riders:

I apologize if this sounds somewhat familiar to readers of the "What Bike to Buy" forum...

I am in the market for a new bike, and am currently attempting to decide between the Cannondale Prophet 800 and Marin Rock Springs. I have ridden a couple of Cannondales, and have been impressed by their quality, but with no Marin dealers (at least, none carrying the Rock Springs) anywhere near me, I have no firsthand experience with the latter bike. I wondered if any readers might have a Rock Springs (ideally, an '06 model), and would be willing to share their experience with it, to help me in my comparison.

Also, I have heard that Marins tend to be sized somewhat large. I am 5'10", 170 lbs., with a 30" inseam. What size Marin ought I be looking at (15.5, 17.5, etc.)?

Thanks in advance for your help.

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    You'd be on the 17.5 Marin.

I don't own either bike, but I work in a store that sells both. I haven't ridden the Rock Springs; I've ridden the Wolf Ridge. Same exact frame, different parts on it. Here are my thoughts for the comparison:
    -The Marin climbs better. One of the best climbers I've ever ridden, actually. It grips like crazy. The standard phrase is "climbs like a hardtail" - this bike puts that to shame. On my local test trail during a climb there are some berms... on my hardtail and most other bikes, these are lumps to be ridden over. On the Marin I caught air off them. I'm not one of those pain freaks that loves climbing, but I loved going up on this bike even more than going down.
    -Both bikes seemed very comparable going downhill. I felt more comfortable hitting excessive speeds on the Marin due to the bigger brakes, but the ride characteristics of the frames were very similar. I can't tell you which one was faster over various shapes of bumps, because I just keep pedalling when I go down the hill. =)