Pivot Mach 5 - Random Tidbits- Mtbr.com
    Not just famous; infamous

Pivot Mach 5 - Random Tidbits

Just got done test riding a Mach 5, parking lot type riding, no dirt , but fun bouncing through curbs, cobbles and a schoolyard nonetheless. I definitely want to demo one on the trails, but the LBS won't have one for a proper demo session 'til the end of February.

A little background: I'm currently looking for that do-it-all machine. Something in the 5-6" travel range that'll handle everything on the Front Range from the buff to the burly. I have a short list of bikes, one of which is the Mach 5. Again, keep in mind that the following is a "parking lot" test, and I'm not a professional bike tester, so have your grain of salt handy.

First off, this is a bike that is completely on the "XC" side of things. It is light and responsive. A little body english goes a long way. I didn't think it was twitchy in any way, but it's not a bulldozer like most bikes in this travel range. It's easy to imagine, with the taut suspension and sharp handling, how one could get into trouble at speed though a rough, techy section, and personally, I wouldn't ever run the fork shorter than 140mm. The suspension is smooth and controlled, but not plush, a Corvette, not a Cadillac. As people have posted before, it doesn't feel like a 5+" travel bike. Pedal response is instant and I couldn't see the shock moving at all when I stood up and sprinted, no matter which of the 3 chainrings I was in. (For reference, I go about 180lbs, and we had 140psi in the shock.) At the same time, the suspension still worked smoothly when I pedaled up curbs and such, no feedback to speak of. The RP23 had the lowest ProPedal setting sticker, but I'm wondering if having Push completely remove the PP (if possible) would make this bike use it's travel better? Questions to ask after a full-on dirt demo, I guess.