Just Purchased a Zion 660 EBB . . . .- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2006

Just Purchased a Zion 660 EBB . . . .

Hello all,

I just picked up a Zion 660 EBB frame for a steal of a deal ($115), at that price I could not let the chance to build up a SS escape me. Problem is I have never built a bike before, so this will be my learning curve, as such I have a few noob questions (Please forgive my lack of knowledge):

1) What size headset do I need? (assuming the standard 1 1/8)

2) In terms of cranks for a Single speed, what are some good options and what sizing is best/applicable for the Zion frame? What size Bottom Bracket does the Zion frame require?

3) Also what gearing is recommended for someone new to the Single Speed world? I am a farily decent climber, so I would like something that will not be pedalled out in the flat sections of a course, but at the same time something that will allow me to climb and not walk the hills.

So far my build is going to be as follows:

Zion 660 EBB Frame
    Fork - ????
    Mavic Crossride Wheelset
    Cane Creek S3 Headset 1 1/8 (if applicable)
    Juicy 5's Hyrdraulic Discs
    Crankset - ????
    Gear Ratio - ????

Any suggestions on a decently cheap fork (around $250 -$300) for the build would be appreciated, I am thinking max of a 100 mm travel - Maybe a RS Tora?

I have some time to build this as I currently have a SantaCruz Blur LT which will continue to be my primary bike, but the urge to build a SS needed to be addressed.

Again, I apologize for my lack of knowledge and thanks in advance for all your help.

Cheers All
    Last edited by XC23; 05-02-2008 at 04:09 PM.

carpe diem
    Jan 2004

Some answers...

1) What size headset do I need? (assuming the standard 1 1/8) - 1 1/8" is correct

2) In terms of cranks for a Single speed, what are some good options and what sizing is best/applicable for the Zion frame? What size Bottom Bracket does the Zion frame require?