Help from ML-7 owners- Mtbr.com

Jan 2004

Help from ML-7 owners

I have some questions for anyone that owns a Maverick bike, specifically a ML-7.

First a little background. I am about to take the plunge and get my first FS bike (currenty bike is a SC chameleon) and all of the reviews and hype about the ML-7 and Maverick bikes in general have me intrigued. I live in Western PA and do a majority of my riding on rocky and rooty terain with a mix of short steep hills and some nice open fire road type climbs. The bike will be used for just plain riding about 90% of the time but I do want to do some more endurance type races and I figure the FS bike will help out with my back. I have limited experience riding FS bikes, one ride on a Pscyle Werks Wild Hare and one ride on a Gary Fisher Cake, and both of these rides where out in SoCal while visiting one of my friends who moved out there. Out of these 2 rides, hands down the Cake was the better bike, it was a lighter bike and I noticed limited pedal bob compared to the Wild Hare.

My questions are about the ML-7 and Maverick bikes in general are as follows.

1) How are the bikes on east coast tight and twisty terrain? From the reviews I read in magazines and on the site, a lot of the riders and riding appears to have been done out west. Which from my limited SoCal riding experience the trails seem to be more wide open and not as tight and twisty and I am concerend that the bike may be a little sluggish.

2) As I stated above this will be my main bike and I am 90% positive that the 4" should be enough travel, seeing that I ride all the trails on a hardtail now, but I would like some opinions on the amount of travel. So is 4" enough?

Any inputs would be helpful

Dan

Schipperkes are cool.
    Dan,