custom frames - how do you...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2004

custom frames - how do you...

so we ( wife and i ) finally decided to get custom steel frames, from Carl Strong.

in my research i have seen some pretty sweet paint jobs, singe color, multi color, crazy graphics, etc. on one hand i want to go simple without flashy decals or graphics, on the other i think if i am coughing up the cash for a custom i may as well go crazy and get something wild.

how did you all go about picking colors for your bikes?

as far as components go, i have been riding for over 10 years and used my fair share of components but picking an entire build kit is crazy! i have usually just replaced one or two things at a time on a bike but never had to think of EVERYTHING at once.

our frames will be:
    for me ( 6'2" 195 lbs ): 29er, singlespeed ( paragon dropouts with der. hanger ) at first with ability to run gears ( for when i get old and cry for gears ). 80-110mm travel fork, prefer lockout

for her ( 5'8" 125 lbs ): geared 26er ( maybe 29er, she has to decide ). 80-110mm travel fork.

as far as riding goes, we spend most of our time in Minnesota. Vacations include Moab, Tennesee, Colorado, Whistler, etc. I love technical trails with rocks, roots, small-medium drops and jumps, no monster drops on our XC bikes, we rent FS for that.

feel free to post up suggestions for build kits. we are trying to keep the build kit with fork and wheels < $2000 for each bike.

this custom build process is pretty darn fun. i think it might be just as addictive as riding! i look forward to your suggestions.

thanks

mtbr member
    For color suggestions, go to the various custom builder sites and check out their galleries. IF has some nice pix to give you ideas.
    As for build kits, why don't you do what I did when I built my custom steel Sycip.
    Buy each part individually. That way, you get the best (or at least your favorite) part for each component.
    Here's a start: