Builders/Pictures of Titanium Hardtails- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2004

Builders/Pictures of Titanium Hardtails

Searching for builders of titanium hardtails. What's out there, the good, the bad and the indifferent? What are you riding and why? I've been riding full suspension for two years now but miss that hardtail feel. Got the birthday coming up and a little room in the garage...

mtbr member
    I ride a Dean Colonel x-lite hardtail which I am very pleased with. My dean has very neat welds (I have seen a few ti bikes and I havnt seen any with better welds than mine) and a super stout mono rear chainstay, its also very light. The problem with dean is that they make you wait for your frame, and wait and wait, I didnt have it too bad but you can read about some real horror stories on this forum. I decided to go for dean because I wanted a US custom built frame and they made me the best offer.

Im a fan of smaller independant builders because usually with them each frame is crafted by hand with love and enthusiasm.

I also considered DESALVO, KISH and STRONG. All come with stirling reputations, but after much deliberation it was Dean that got my vote.

If price isnt an issue then take a look at MOOTS , SEVEN, TITUS and INDEPENDANT FABRICATIONS. All come with awesome "cult" reputations but were really too expensive for my pocket.

Make sure that you spend a bit extra and go for a custom build, it makes such a big difference over an off the shelf frame. Also I would recommend getting anything made outside the US (eg Airbourne) or anything made by the american bicycle group (formerly known as Litespeed (RIP) and Merlin).
    Last edited by 20_bandh; 03-07-2006 at 05:49 AM.

I wasn't Kung Fu fighting
    Jun 2005

Kish Ti...