mtbr member

http://www.nemba.org/ question

I am posting this here for I am a CT resident so figured if anyone is part of the NEMBA | New England Mountain Bike Association in the CT area this would make the most sense to post it here.

I only grazed the surface of checking out the site and what it's all about. I do like what I see and think it's very cool.

However, I found it interesting you have "chapters", and there are dues. First the chapters give me the feeling of something out of Sons of Anarchy. The dues I get for the Elks and other groups, but if people are volunteering to work/clean-up trails and what not, what is the money being used for? Then there is the bi-laws which I stopped reading for it was basically a legal document and I was starting to get lost and quite frankly bored.

Not putting it down, just trying to better understand it.

mtbr member
    I know in RI they do some trail cleanups but to be honest I am not sure. If they are non profit the money has to be gone at the end of the year right? I wish they would spend some of it on trail signs and wood features at Big River.

mtbr member
    Feb 2005
    There is a link to chapter websites on the NEMBA site. The Rhode Island chapter is extremely active, with rides and trail work going on all the time. The RI NEMBA Facebook page is a good way to find out what's going on if you're a Facebook person. If you want the chapter to do something specific like signage at Big River, join them and get involved.

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by uncaged View Post
    I am posting this here for I am a CT resident so figured if anyone is part of the NEMBA | New England Mountain Bike Association in the CT area this would make the most sense to post it here.

I only grazed the surface of checking out the site and what it's all about. I do like what I see and think it's very cool.