mtbr member
    Apr 2018

CT on a rigid SS?

CT and MTB noob here, formerly west coast roady. Iím local to Storrs currently and have been riding the airline trail pretty regularly, looking to expand to single track.

I was looking into steel hard tails (mostly because thatís one less shock to worry about), and a friend of a friend pointed me toward a rigid SS bike for a price thatís doesnít make me wince too much in the All City Log Lady.

Just curious if folks have opinions on how suitable a rigid SS will be on single track in CT, say from Farmington eastward.

Iíll get plenty of mileage out of the frame on trails alone where I currently ride a fat tire road bike, but Iíd like to get a general sense of whether Iíll need more bike right off the bat.

thanks for reading!

ZEN RIDER!
    Depends on the trail and rider skill. Started off on a hardtail and rode pretty much everything I ride now. The trade off is how badly its beats you up and how fast you want to ride rocky terrain. There is plenty of smooth single track, Spooner's trails in Salmon river are great for beginner and rigid bikes as there is little tech & rocks.
    Have you tried looking for used xc full suspension? It would allow you for more options as far as ride areas.
    Life in every breath

mtbr member
    Oct 2016
    All I've owned in the past 15 years is rigid bikes. I've borrowed a few full suspensions. They are faster in certain situations. Slower in some too. Riding a rigid takes more skill, you can't just plow over everything.

Rigid with plus tires is a whole lot of fun in CT.

mtbr member
    Jan 2015
    If you're going rigid here make it a fat bike. It'll soften up the trails a bit, make the beaches ridable and it is going to snow 6-7months from now.

mtbr member