Beginner Trail- Mtbr.com

Thread: Beginner Trail

mtbr member

Smile Beginner Trail

hi guys i am new to mtb i just bought a new 07 jamis durango 2.0 hard tail and all the other stuff i need to go with it. i live in wallingford ct

can some one tell me a great beginner trail for me to ride. something in the woods. and nice to ride?

thanks
    Jason

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    it's not that close to you, but the West Hartford Reservoir has a great mix of climbs, rocks, roots, quick (short) downhills and some log piles. good place to learn.

Loser

Tyler Mills

Check out Tyler Mills - its right in Wallingford (or close by). There are some gnarly sections, but for the most part its pretty smooth singletrack. I think it would make a good place to practice and learn.

Look for maps at Bikerag.com.

John

mtbr member
    You might want to also check out Wadsworth Falls in Middletown - trails are kind of fire roady with a smidge of singletrack thrown in here and there. Plus its well marked, not that big and, well somewhat scenic ( there is a waterfall after all )

Maps, info and driving directions can be found here: http://www.crankfire.com/trails/trail.php?trailid=27

And here:

http://www.bikerag.com/bike_trail_maps_text_CT.htm
    Crankfire.com / New Englandish Mountain Biking Community

mtbr member
    Like has been suggested, Tyler Mill is a fun ride. Also, both West Rock and Brooksvale have easy terrain and are fairly close to you.
    I call for a mandate to allow only road bikes on trails to limit our speeds and increase our line picking skills-FB

mtbr member
    Jan 2007