Why aren't push on grips more popular?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2014

Why aren't push on grips more popular?

I was watching this bike build video and noticed he's using push on grips on a downhill bike: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FQCONjLsDZk&t=22m52s

This sort of surprised me because i thought it was standard to use lock on grips in mountainbiking.

I'm new to mountainbiking but i rode a bit of bmx and so was always use to the feel of push on grips. I tested putting lock on grips on my bmx bike because i was curious and noticed it changes the feel of bunnyhopping.

I feel like push on grips almost have this natural rebound effect to them making your hops feel snappy. The lock on's are stiffer and it feels like there's no give between your hand and the grip. Almost like the grippiness is limiting your range of motion a bit.

Is there are reason why push on grips aren't more popular in mountainbiking?

I tried looking up more examples of push on grips on mountain bikes and found this: https://www.redbull.com/ie-en/bike-c...ndraker-summum

They said those grips are glue and wired on. I wonder if that gets rid of that natural give that push on grips have though. Or maybe that puts it somewhere between lock ons and push ons.

Always in the wrong gear
    Iíve used ESI chunky grips exclusively for years.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Shiftin' jumps and huckin' gears

Trail Gnome
    I donít care for lock on grips myself...they tend to be too firm. Iíve also tried ESI chunky grips, they were like riding with no grips at all. They felt worse than the lock on grips. All of this is personal preference, of course. Currently Iím running some Lizard Skins Danny Mac grips

Elitest thrill junkie
    Because they can push-off when you ride hard, unless you do things like glue them, which gets messy and nasty when it comes time to change them. Not all lock-ons are the same and feel like hard grips.