stem fatigue and lifespan?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2019

stem fatigue and lifespan?

In regard to fatigue, how long do you use your stem until you replace it? No hypothetical answers please. I'm asking for those that have used a stem so long that they decided to toss it out of concern.
    I've been running the same old Chromag HiFi since 2012 for thousands of miles in all kinds of conditions and it's now the only thing to have remained through 5 different bike builds. At what point should I consider replacing it? I've used a torque wrench every time I've installed it. But it's been crashed too many times to remember (literally! concussions!) and there have been a few rough edges that I've filed.
    I recently threw a handlebar in the trash because I had used it for 4,500 miles of rough rigid bikepacking and didn't want to take chances with fatigued metal on my next longish distance outing.

Where do you strike a balance in terms of getting a stem that you want to last for years without getting some super heavy block?

Keep on Rockin...
    I've got a Bontrager stem that is probably 20 years old and saw heavy use its first 10 years, and intermittent use since. It is very light stem, 120mm, that took a sound thrashing and still seems to be in good shape. Never really thought about it fatiguing out - maybe I should.

mtbr member
    ^^^ yeah. Sounds like a legit concern, but I've never been aware of anybody being concerned about it...so I did the natural thing, googled it, and found this:

https://www.sheldonbrown.com/rinard/stemtesting.htm

Not totally relevant, but interesting.

Unrelated: I visited and toured Bill Holland's frame fabrication shop outside San Diego back in 2013.
    Do the math.

since 4/10/2009