Started using SPD in 1991. Time for flat pedals?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Started using SPD in 1991. Time for flat pedals?

I took a long time off from cycling. When I was active, I always used SPD pedals. I just got a new bike (Specialized Fuse 27.5+) and it came with flats.

I was planning on switching them out for my SPDís but now it looks like flat pedals are actually a ďthingĒ now.

Any of you switched to flats after a lifetime with SPD? Any advice?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

poser Administrator
    I bought the SPD 737's when they were first released, before even shoes for them were available. I modified a pair of nike hiking shoes with metal plates and cleats so I could ride. I rode with them from 1990 or so until a couple of years ago when I moved to Washington State.

I started riding here and just decided to give flats a try. I had a pair of old welgo pedals and I have been using them since. It is nice to try something different and where I had a hard time jump with spd's before I have now final learned to jumping with the flats. They are definitely something that will help your technique, just like most things.

The things I dislike is pedal/shin strikes, pedal hits on trail obstacle, the choices in shoes for wide feet, and sore feet from using shoes that fit my wide flippers (Vans old schools).

That said I really am enjoying riding them, I no longer dread the accidentally unclipped foot during jump, and they don't foul as much in inclement weather.

Hike a bike on flat shoes are no better or no worse than spd shoes in my opinion. There are areas where a HAB with spds would be better, and there are areas where a HAB with flat shoes would be much better.

Try it, you may like it.
    MTBR Posting Guidelines
    calories>electrons

since 4/10/2009
    A tip -

Riding with platform pedals is different than riding with clipless. It takes commitment to learn that difference.