Looking for first set of Clip-ins- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2015

New question here. Looking for first set of Clip-ins

I've been riding for about two years and I want to move to the clip-in pedals that I see lots of people using on the trails. Are there different styles of clip-ins that I should be aware or any model in particular that are good for beginners? Recommendations are encouraged and thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    I started with Shimanos in the late 1990's and still use their pedals. Never had any issues getting out of the pedals. You may want to start with multi-release cleats and then switch to the stock cleats after you get used to getting out of the pedals quickly. You can also adjust the tension on the release, it's very easy. Just keep it consistent on all of the sides.

mtbr member
    May 2015
    Awesome. I ended up getting the Shimano PD-M520's from my LBS today. Can't wait to get them on. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Nov 2015
    Let us know how they work for you. I've been considering switching to clips too. I have a friend I ride with a lot that switched to clips and he literally crashed/fell over about 10-12 times per ride for several rides before he got the hang of it. Watching him crash over and over kinda put me off trying them lol

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Hollis Prince View Post
    Let us know how they work for you. I've been considering switching to clips too. I have a friend I ride with a lot that switched to clips and he literally crashed/fell over about 10-12 times per ride for several rides before he got the hang of it. Watching him crash over and over kinda put me off trying them lol
    There is a bit of a learning curve, but once your through that they are pretty awesome, I'm still nervous in really techy sections, so I'll unclip one side and just move the pedal back on my foot to keep it from clipping back in. I run specialized 2fo shoes and Shimano XT trail pedals.