expert pedal mechanics? Looking for real world service.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2006

expert pedal mechanics? Looking for real world service.

I have two pairs of Bebop pedals, both need service. I bought the first pair to make a custom platform pedal with foot very close to axle which I've been using for the last 15 years. The axle has pulled out of both original ones. About the same time, I bought a second pair just as backups. These had really stiff bearings. Complained to the US distributer at the time and they said in spec, just random contract manufacturers.

So I'm guessing the Bebop pedals are not the best design (now even one of my backups have failed), and I bought some Xpedos that appear to be better built. A bit heavier and I won't be as close to the axle (never owned those old Dura Ace below axle centerpoint but appreciate the design in theory), but really before I tear up my waterjet cut platforms made just for the Bebops, I want to find out if I can fix the Bebops first.

So I'm looking for a professional mechanic or someone else who can get these fixed. I'm in the Dayton Ohio area, but happy to business by mail. Not even sure why the axles pulled out with the fixing screw in place. Guessing there is a plastic retention washer that failed. So help is needed, not how to advice: but thanks even if advice is given.

mtbr member
    I have no experience with Bebops, but your custom platform sounds interesting. Got any pix you could post?
    What, me worry?

mtbr member
    May 2006