Do Aluminum Bars Last Forever?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Do Aluminum Bars Last Forever?

Forum sages, help me justify (or resist) purchasing new bars. I've been running some aluminum Deity bars for 2+ years, across two bikes, and put some pretty good miles on them. Visually, nothing is wrong, and I like the basic setup with rise and width enough that I don't need to change anything. Hands never get numb or tired, body position is good.

But even so... I've been bitten by the upgrade/changes bug, and wouldn't mind a new bar with a splash of color to liven up my all-black bike. Maybe even with Vibrocore just to try it out.

Question is, is there a "life span" on aluminum bars? Is there a point in time when replacing them makes sense from a practical perspective? Or will I have to admit to myself that I want new bars "just because"?

Not a role model
    Having trouble finding anything that lasts forever. When something has a lifetime warranty, that tends to mean a product's lifetime...

Some metals have a shelf life, as they "air harden" and become fairly stiff and brittle.

There's even some evidence to dispute that metals don't have fatigue endurance limits, which means that metals may in fact crack from fatigue from a high number of small loads.

Syntace is a brand that is well recognized for lasting ages, in both carbon and aluminum. Their aluminum lasts more cycles on fatigue tests than many other brands' carbon.

Shartacular Spectacular
    Google "fatigue limit of aluminum" and edumacate yaself. Highly dependent on the endurance limit of 7075 aluminum tubing with whatever treatment deity utilizes, the amount of force you exert on dem bars, and how many cycles of said stress are at or above the fatigue strength if I recall correctly --it's been awhile.

Do you ride rampage or ride circles in your driveway? Because the answer is likely different dependent on your riding.
    18’ SC Bronson Carbon
    Grip2, Reserve 27's, i9's, Float X2

18' SC V10.6