Winter Commute: Pics of you in gear- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2006

Winter Commute: Pics of you in gear

I've seen threads with pictures of people's bikes, but not of them dressed in their gear. This is my first year commuting (so my first winter) on a bike and I'd like to get some ideas of what to wear. Snow has started falling and it was 9 degrees today, my hands and feet were frozen. Post up some pics of what you wear and maybe a list (jackets, gloves, bags, socks, etc.).

weirdo
    You`re right- lots of pics of bikes, hardly any of riders. There are a lot of threads about winter gear lately, though- check out the "Snow Commute" and "Long Cold Winter Commute" threads that are probably both on the first page of the forum. Also, lots of good ideas here:
    http://www.icebike.org/ (although not updated recently)
    and another forum here:
    http://www.bikeforums.net/forumdispl...Winter-Cycling
    Recalculating....

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by SilverJester
    I've seen threads with pictures of people's bikes, but not of them dressed in their gear. This is my first year commuting (so my first winter) on a bike and I'd like to get some ideas of what to wear. Snow has started falling and it was 9 degrees today, my hands and feet were frozen. Post up some pics of what you wear and maybe a list (jackets, gloves, bags, socks, etc.).
    Lead by example. In other words, you need to be the one to start with the pic posting!
    "Donuts. Is there anything they can't do?"

weirdo
    Old picture that`s already on the "Let`s See Your Commuter" thread- glad my wife was hanging out with a camera that day because who thinks to set up a camera when they go to work?

That bike is gone, but it`s almost exactly the same clothes I use now. Top to bottom:
    Helmet with a mini bungee around the left rear to hang a Superflash in nasty weather or if I ride in a high traffic area.
    Knit cap (want to experiment and see if ear warmers will work instead).