Type of Bike for Commuter/"2nd" Road Bike/Light Trails- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Type of Bike for Commuter/"2nd" Road Bike/Light Trails

I realize I'm probably asking for too much from one bike, though maybe not...but I thought this community would steer me in the right direction.

I've been biking for nearly 20 years. I've had a HT, FS, several road bikes, a cross bike and a gravel bike. Due to an issue with my neck/shoulders, I decided a couple of years ago to stick with road only. Point being that I need to sit comfortably when I'm riding, with very little pressure on my arms (if not, leads to pain). This has worked fine. So I only have one road bike, and I ride indoors on a direct drive trainer in the winter (live outside Toronto). I ride 4x a week.

Now I've decided that I want to commute in town, when doing local things such as getting groceries, running to the store for things, the library, etc. For 'green' reasons, as well as fitness and fresh air. I'm not looking to commute to work. I live in a relatively small suburb, with a few bike lanes, but mainly sidewalks. There is also a nice gravel trail cutting through a forest that gets me to our downtown, where the library is. I've taken my cross/gravel bikes on this frequently when I had them, and it makes for a nice, short ride on a windy day (sheltered). Would also use the bike when riding with the family.

I thought I could also use the bike on those nice days in winter, when the roads are relatively clean (but not so clean that I want to haul out the road bike). From Apr-Nov, I would be on my road bike 95% of the time. Unless I'm riding around town on errands.

I have a bike rack (Tubus) and Panniers (Ortlieb), as I did some light touring 7-10 years ago. I would use them for errands. I may put fenders on...but not a deal breaker.