Trouble with snow- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Trouble with snow

Well i did my first snow commute. Running 2" schwable winter marathons. Packed flat snow, no problem, powder, no problem. Issue is semi packed firm snow on top of the roads, which are probably icy. A coworker says the roads get packed and it gets better. I tried sitting back on the seat, works better but the front end just digs. I am fairly hunched over. I got a 35degree riser coming so might help with weight distribution.

Also.... I thought my tires still had 50
    Psi from me breaking the studs in this fall. Front had 20 and rear 30... I bumped them up to 34 and 37 as per the itire app.... We will see how tomorrow goes but maybe it was the 20psi? Low pressure is better on snow and sand tho...

#canadastrong
    Fatbike, XC bike, Gravel Bike....

Fat!Drunk!Slow!
    It's the snow/road conditions. No tire will work 100% for every condition, hence fatbikes, mtn bikes, etc. Loose snow over hardpack, mash potatos, sluff, is even hard on a fatbike in some cases. Snow is really hard to predict and every type act's differently.

Moderator Moderator
    I agree with Jordy, and would add that the winter marathons are only rated 3 out of 5 for off road grip...if your snow is more traction-challenged than a trail (likely), they will not be the best tool. That said, they will be faster than the grippier Ice Spikers when they can roll. The Schwalbe comparisons are here Studded | Schwalbe North America Try to stay loose too, the death grip kills your snomojo.

mtbr member

Trouble with snow

Yah i thought that it could be that they are just round and push, could do a ice spiker pro on the front. We will see... Im on paved walking paths that are brushed for snow removal, so there is hard concrete snow and ice on them which these fly on. I just will have to wait a day after a snow storm until they brush it i guess. But... 2-4" of pow i had no problem on. Other than a damn fat bike rut ill have to avoid tomorrow