• 12-12-2014
    spazzy
    Thinking of Home-Brew Chains
    Hey all, I am thinking of home made tire chains for this winter's commute. I used studded tires in the past and my current pair is really worn. I fell once last year due to worn studs. I am a poor pharmacy school student so $150 on new tires is hard to swing.

I'm riding a 26" hardtail with BB7s. I switched from slicks to some 2.2 knobby tires in late fall. I was thinking of something similar to this for the chain set up.

MtnBikeRiders.com Blog Archive DIY Tire Chains

Any additional ideas? Anyone tried this with success?

I would probably leave the chains on all winter like I did with my studded tires previously, unless they are awful on pavement. My commute is pretty short 2-2.5ish miles one way depending on the route so I can deal with crappy rolling resistance/extra weight.
  • 12-12-2014
    leeboh
    Worn out the studs? What brand. Chains seems like a horrible idea for any kind of pavement. Try for some used studded tires, would be your best way. Look for nokian or schwalbe only.
  • 12-12-2014
    spazzy
    Quote:

Originally Posted by leeboh View Post
    Worn out the studs? What brand. Chains seems like a horrible idea for any kind of pavement. Try for some used studded tires, would be your best way. Look for nokian or schwalbe only.

I rode on these for 5 winters, I don't think they were carbide tipped.

Innova Studded Tire > Components > Tires and Tubes > Tires | Jenson USA

I figured I could homebrew the chains for under $30.
  • 12-12-2014
    bedwards1000
    - Changing the tire would be impossible
    - Rolling over that lightweight chain would probably damage it, possibly self puncturing a tire. (see above)
    - I don't see how the smooth chain is going to dig into hard ice much more than the tire itself would.
    - I assume you have disk brakes
    - The fact that there are no commercially produced bike tire chains indicates that they might not work.