Things I'm learning on my 17.5 mile commute- Mtbr.com
    Human Test Subject

Things I'm learning on my 17.5 mile commute

I quit my stupid job last year and have been taking IT classes at a college a few towns over. I've been car free for 4 years so I'm not an amateur commuter, but I'm still learning things.

1- Winter gear for my new commute is vastly different than my old 4 mile one.
    2- 35 miles round trip will sunburn me even in April.
    3- Even my expensive waterproof jacket (Sugoi RSE) can't handle an hour and a half of constant rain
    4- Gas may be cheaper than the amount of food I have to eat now.
    5- It's still better than driving.
    You change your own flats? Support your LBS and pay them to instead.

Yeah!
    Food has always been more expensive, we just don't notice it when we're only doing a handful of miles a day. A banana and a Gatorade doesn't cost enough to care, and we might have eaten that anyway. I did about two hours last night, and added maybe 800 calories to compensate. That's a full meal, and even when prepared at home, that adds up and shows up on the grocery bill.

Sunburn... yes... I wear a hat for extended outdoor activities, because even in January you can get a slight burn on a cloudy day, in Kentucky. Protect thyself at all times!

The only piece of gear I've had in 40 years that didn't leak was a USMC poncho. A fairly brilliant piece of tech... no zippers, seams sealed like a tent. Your movement pushes air around, keeping you cooler and getting rid of moisture vapor. I've used one on the bike with some clips holding the front up so my knees aren't fighting the poncho, and the back covered my pannier. Not for high speeds.
    I will suffer no butt-hurt fools!

since 4/10/2009
    I've noticed that after an hour and a half of constant rain, I can't tell if my rain jacket is protecting me, or if the wetness is just my sweat.