Taping Bar Ends?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Taping Bar Ends?

I'm new to riding a road bike. I'm riding a SS and it had flat mt. bike style handle bars on it. I have some bar ends on my mt. bike and have got accustomed to the way I hold the bars. The ones I have on my mt. bike are really small and kindof a squishy rubber material. However the new ones I got for the SS are a little bigger and have a little bit of a curve to them. Plus they are just metal. I was just wondering if that tape that people use on their bars is for grip or if it has some cushion to it? If so does anyone else tape their bar ends? Or should I just return them and get some drop bars? I'm commuting about 16 miles each way in a pretty much flat area. I've been riding mt. bike for 15 years but know absolutely nothing about road riding.
    Last edited by B1KER; 09-20-2011 at 03:09 PM.

Bedwards Of The West
    If you want to tape them, get 'cork' tape (actually fake 'cork' tape, but that word will imply that it has some squish). Most of the major brands do have some squish to them. You can also do a double layer of tape for even more squish.

There's no rule saying you can't tape bar ends. for a similar set up though, you might consider 'bullhorn' bars. You can get mountain bike levers and shifters to work with most bullhorns. The other option is a full on road bar, but you're looking at new brake levers/shifters probably to make it all work. The budget solution is to tape your bar ends. Might be cool! You will not be able to remove your shifters or levers though once you tape.

For my money, if I was riding 16 miles one way, I'd get drop bars. More hand positions and more ways to get out of the wind.
    You have no excuse for driving to work
    (unless you don't have studded tires)
    (no excuse for that either)

mtbr member