Start a bike stable?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2010

Start a bike stable?

I've been riding MTB for about 10 years, and slowly migrated/upgraded to a high-end 2x10 full suspension xc racing bike (yes, that I actually race). However, I also bike to work 4 miles one way and am thinking about getting another bike just for rides into work. We have a paved river trail that goes from my neighborhood directly to work - smooth, fast, nice scenery.

Question: Should I keep rolling on my new 5k+ MTB, or get something in the 500-1000 dollar range to ride to work. P.S. I'm having a kid in a few months and will want to hook up one of those burley carts for trips around the city to parks, zoo, etc...

Should I get a 2nd bike or make my MTB do it all?

29er and 26er
    Mar 2012
    I would think you couldn't go wrong with getting a 2nd bike. Heck between my wife and I we have 6 bikes!

I would look on craigs list for a good used bike for your commute to work and connecting the burley up to.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    N+1 and done.
    "I have one speed. I have one gear: Go." -- Charlie Sheen

mtbr member
    Definitely craigslist! This is the story I have gotten from most of the people I have emailed on CL: "I bought this bike 5 years ago and road it for about a year. It has been sitting in my garage and I just want to get rid of it!" This usually ends up in a transaction that I feel is in my favor
    Are you a Happy Mutant?

weirdo
    Quote Originally Posted by ender. View Post
    N+1 and done.
    "N+1" and "done" are contradictory. NEVER done!

mtbr member
    May 2010
    N+1 is definitely how I live my drumming life....(there's always one more cymbal that would sound great on my drumkit...)

Yeah, I think i'm gonna pull the trigger on another bike. A 29er HT. Can still play around in the woods a bit, it's a back up while my FS is in the shop, would be better (3x9) for road riding (which I also do a bit of for training).