soma wolverine frame- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2016

soma wolverine frame

hi, im new to biking and to the forums . im 26 yrs old 5'9" 268lbs. i have been working hard at losing weight since 10/2/15. I started at 294 lbs. I changed the way i eat,sold my car and have been walking every place . its tax time and i have been doing lots of reading on bike frames and i like the idea of a do all bike. it was surly straggler vs wolverine. after lots of reading i want the wolverine. do i want 52cm or 54cm frame? this bike will be used for commuting/exercise/ light touring . i have no local bike shop, just a sports shop that will order bikes.i live in BFE. i will start a build thread when i get started. i think i can build a bike with research, your guys help, and youtube . any help would be greatly appreciated.

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    Try reading through this thread, there is some sizing discussion in here
    http://forums.mtbr.com/custom-builde...ds-939062.html

Pay attention to the top tube length on the Wolverine when choosing your size.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    Kudos on the lifestyle reboot and dropped .lbs! At 5'9", I'd be thinking the 54cm, provided you have at least a bit of standover. Much like the Specialized AWOL, the Wolvie has a long top tube, so you should expect to use a shorter stem than with more typical drop-bar geometry.

For reference, one Wolvie rider I know is 5'7" and rides a 52cm with a 90mm stem, and my wife is 5'3.5" and rides a 50cm with a 60mm stem. The Wolverine is a great bike!

mtbr member
    Jan 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by albeant View Post
    Kudos on the lifestyle reboot and dropped .lbs! At 5'9", I'd be thinking the 54cm, provided you have at least a bit of standover. Much like the Specialized AWOL, the Wolvie has a long top tube, so you should expect to use a shorter stem than with more typical drop-bar geometry.