Single Speed disc brake commuter w/ flat bar - suggestions please- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Single Speed disc brake commuter w/ flat bar - suggestions please

I've been commuting to work on a MTB for over 12 years....an old Specialized Hardrock that has gone through 3 or 4 overhauls. I'm currently looking to get a disc brake equipped single speed bike (for low-maintenance) hopefully around 600-700 range. Preferably it will be SS, flat bar, carbon or alloy fork, preferably light and have wheels/tyres that would enable it to handle maybe 20-30km mix of road/towpaths/double track. So far I have a few front runners but keen to know if any other suggestions out there.
    1) Cotic Roadrat - lovely bike but too pricey and too beautiful (i.e. nickable)
    2) Pinnacle Dolomite Single Speed 2018 - drop bar but easily converted to flat. Not sure how wheels would hold up.
    3) Charge Plug 1 Disc - probably unavailable and again drop bar so needs converted.
    I'm not totally closed to drop bars (I do a lot of road) but prefer flat bar for commuting.
    I would also consider some CX bikes but they all seem too expensive for what they are. May also consider a 1x10 although wanted to make this bike as simple as possible. Building up a frame (e.g. Cotic Roadrat) not really option as all my spare parts are old standards and I can get it all cheaper in one bike. Any more ideas folks?

XC
    Trail
    Road
    Fat...it's all cycling.

Wanna ride bikes?
    A cross/gravel bike immediately came to mind. Check out the Soma Wolverine. Super versatile, big tire clearance, belt drive compatible, Sliding dropouts, will take gears, good steel tubing.
    Rigid SS 29er
    SS 29+
    Fat Lefty
    SS cyclocross
    Full Sus 29er (Yuck)

Stop asking how much it weighs and just go ride it.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by *OneSpeed* View Post