Should I sell my car?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2008

Should I sell my car?

1) Mainly for financial reasons
    2) For the principle of the thing

I'm a grad student so I don't make that much. My car is paid for (my mom bought it) and its a 2002 Nissan Maxima SE. Its a fine car and I like it but here is what it is costing me, even without a payment: Insurance = $75 / month, Gas (I don't drive much) = $30 / month, maintenance + repairs = $15 / month?, depreciation = ?.

The car is currently worth $6000. So I was thinking if I sell while there is still value I should hold onto the money and buy a more practical economic car years later after grad school or something.

OR should I keep the car since it is paid for and it is nice and reliable. $6000 plus $100 - $150 / month goes a long ways.

AZ
    banned
    Keep it , economical cars are not going to get cheaper .

~Disc~Golf~
    keep it and 'non-op' it
    ~$10/yr IIRC
    Honestly... ahh I give up

The Brutally Handsome
    I have no way of knowing all the factors involved in your life, but my personal feeling is that you should sell the car. First, with the right bike setup, you can do almost anything you could do with a car. The more I ride, the more I have found this to be true, and I regret that I did not try going carless when I could have. Second, there is no reason to have that much money tied up in a depreciating vehicle. The fact that you have to pay another 100+ dollars a month to drive it seems like a waste.

I currently own a Toyota worth about 900$ and I pay 25$ a month to insure it. At this point in my life, the car is a necessity, as I have two small kids. And the car is virtually worthless and inexpensive to keep, so, there is no sense in selling it. However, if I was kidless, in college and owned a car worth more than $2000, I would certainly sell it.