Question About Second Wheelset for Commuting- Mtbr.com
    Bloody Bastard

Question About Second Wheelset for Commuting

Okay, so I got a second wheelset for my mtb that will be used specifically for commuting. The wheels will have a good set of Continental slicks mounted. I also got an 8-speed 12-25t cassette for these wheels since they'll be strictly for road use. Considering the smaller cogs on this particular cassette, will I need to put on a tighter chain whenever I swap the wheelsets? I have zero experience and know absolutely nothing.

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    Generally, you want to use the same gearing on both sets of wheels. Otherwise you get into chain length and derailluer issues.
    And, As I recall, you had a mountain setup originally. Which means your high gear was 11 teeth. Going to 12 as your top gear will reduce your top speed. leave the 12-25 type sets for true road bikes and get youself a twin of your other cogs.

Bloody Bastard
    Quote Originally Posted by citybiker
    Generally, you want to use the same gearing on both sets of wheels. Otherwise you get into chain length and derailluer issues.
    And, As I recall, you had a mountain setup originally. Which means your high gear was 11 teeth. Going to 12 as your top gear will reduce your top speed. leave the 12-25 type sets for true road bikes and get youself a twin of your other cogs.
    I understand and will comply. Thank you!

weirdo