Project: Paint that Huffy!- Mtbr.com

Jul 2009

Project: Paint that Huffy!

I've decided to go green this coming school year and bike rather than drive to school. It'll save on gas money, as well as our school's fee for a parking pass.

My mountain bike isn't very suited to commuting, so I decided that I'd take my dad's nearly 20 year old Huffy ten-speed. Its paint job is hideous looking, very typical of what you might expect to see in the early 90's. It's a black paint job with this funky red splatter going on, with a red fork and red handlebars.

Here is my bike before the carnage begins.

This is my first time disassembling a bike and refinishing it, so I took utmost caution when it came to setting the parts aside. I wrote notes galore, and have them nicely organized on a table in the garage.

Here's a picture of it disassembled in my driveway, awaiting its sanding.

I finished sanding down the fork, bars, and stem, as well as the top tube. Tomorrow I will finish the frame and get it ready for priming.

I'll be posting pictures as I take them, and asking advice for future steps in my refinishing process. My plan is to finish the frame and stem black, and the fork and handlebars white. I think the contrast would look nice. Any input is welcome, as well as suggestions for how to go about doing this stuff, as this is my first time doing it.

The one question I did have is the clearcoat, after I do the color phase. Should I do anything special? or just spray on and wait for it to dry, lightly sanding between coats? I've read places that a heatgun helps, though I don't have one. Would a blow dryer suffice?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Dave

Drinking the Slick_Juice
    single speed it!!!
    "If women don't find handsome , they should at least find you handy."-Red Green

mtbr member
    Dec 2008
    LOVE your dedication with keeping the old parts going, I reckon try the frame builder's forum, they will know better. :-)

locked - time out
    Jan 2007