Oil Experiment- Mtbr.com

Thread: Oil Experiment

The Brutally Handsome

Oil Experiment

I am not a scientist of any kind, but with all the oil ideas being tossed about willy-nilly these days, I decided I had to figure the issue out for myself. And before you tear into me about my process, please keep in mind this information is purely anecdotal. Feel free to conduct your own experiment and post your own conclusions here as well. And if you just want my results skip down to the bottom.

For my experiment, I used a relatively new chain with only 300 miles and started with a thorough cleansing. As a side experiment, I decided to see if plain old mineral spirits or Park brand degreaser worked better, and the mineral spirits was far and away better at removing the old grease and oil.

I then divided my chain into four sections using a small dab of paint, and lubed the sections with three different types of oil: tri-flow, phil's tenacious oil and chainsaw bar oil, leaving the forth section completely dry.

The results? Well, I originally planned to ride the bike for several hundred miles and snap pictures along the way, as I thought it might be difficult to distinguish between the various sections of chain, but after only a few days of riding I was so disturbed by what I was seeing that I had to end the experiment early.

Even though that big jug of bar oil cost less than that tiny bottle of Phils, it was by far the worst. It picked up everything like a magnet and turned my chain, and everything else it touched black and nasty.

The Tri-Flow wasn't much better. The chain was blackened and had picked up quite a bit of road debris.

On the other hand, the section with Phil's oil remained relatively nice, clean and well lubricated.

And the section with nothing continued to be dry, except for excess it picked up from the gears.

My conclusion? Phil's cost too much but bar oil sucks so I'm just going to remove all the oil and ride it dry!