Nexus Hub Drag- Mtbr.com

Thread: Nexus Hub Drag

aaarrrggghh!

Nexus Hub Drag

Not new to commuting but I am new to this hub. I bought a Specialized Globe Elite from a buddy that had 29 miles on it. He custom built the bike with some Velocity rims laced to a Nexus 8 speed hub. So far I like the bike, I've put about 80 miles on it, but I was wondering if the rear hub becomes smoother once it is broken in. The drag feels kind of substantial and the engagement isn't as snappy as geared bikes I've ridden. Also, is there any maintenance I need to do to this hub on a regular basis?

I apologize if this topic has been covered. I used the search function but didn't see any real discussion on this hub except people talking about building bikes with the Nexus hub. Thanks in advance for any info you folks can provide.

mtbr member
    Nexus hubs take around 500 miles to wear in. After that gear changes will be slightly better, as for drag - that should improve too. They don't need frequent maintenance but every year or two wouldn't be a bad idea(click here: how to).

Search RBR as a few people have converted bikes to Nexus.

weirdo

Random thoughts on Nexus

I had a Redband 8 on a commuter for about two years and for the most part I liked it. Some observations and comments: