new to the road, upgrade mtb or buy road bike?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2010

new to the road, upgrade mtb or buy road bike?

I'm relatively new to biking in general, although I've been riding off road motorcycles just about every weekend religiously for the last 15 years. I'm 43 now.

I picked up a 2nd hand but basically new trek 4300 cheap and figured I would use that to ride with the wife and kids, and now the dog via the walky dog attachment. It has worked out great for those needs. I always wanted to ride with my friends who cross trained dirt bikes with mountain bikes. They have some pretty hard core single track as the area we live in is very hilly and extremely rocky. when riding off road motorcycles we look for the nastiest terrain we can find and try and make a trail through it.....and these guys do the same on the bicycles.

I always knew my $500 trek wasn't up to the task of those trails and neither was the rider. My plan was to build my endurance on my own and then start to be punished by them down the road.....that never really happened.

on a casual dirtbike ride 4 months ago I tore my ACL, PCL, AND MCL along with both menisci. so far I've only had surgery for the meniscus and am waiting on full range of motion before getting the ACL done.

I have found the best rehab so far is riding the bicycle. so I went ahead and outfitted the trek with smooth/wide road tires installed lights and a soft seat and started rehab road riding just about every day. As I said before our area is very hilly so a 25 mile ride on this bike seems to be a pretty decent workout for this beginner with low endurance.

I have found that I like to set a destination in my head and once I have reached it, I push the destination further and further each ride.