Mountain bike fenders and commuter conversion- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Mountain bike fenders and commuter conversion

I have a Mongoose Tyax Elite that has been sitting in the garage unused for a few years. I am moving to a more urban area and would like to put some road tires on it and use it as an around town bike and occasional commuter.

http://mountain-bikes.findthebest.co...ose-Tyax-Elite

Are there any full coverage fenders that would work with a disc brake bike with a suntour xcm fork? I plan to put a bit narrower tire on the bike than the typical mountain tire. I may buy a rigid fork, but for now I can just lock out the crappy Suntour fork.

It has standard quick release front and rear axles. Are most racks compatible with this setup?

Any other recommendations to make this a good errand and town bike?

Thanks for reading.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    I think it is obvious from my previous post that I have no experience with commuter or city bikes. This is an excellent bike and I already own it. It has seen little use since I have two more mountain bikes. Here is a better link of the specs if that helps everyone with recommendations for fenders and racks. I really want full coverage fenders (not the mountain bike trail fenders).

Mongoose Tyax Elite 2011 Mountain Bike | Evans Cycles

mtbr member
    Mar 2009