Lane position and busy intersections questions for newby- Mtbr.com

Mar 2008

Lane position and busy intersections questions for newby

I'm new to the commuting aspect of biking, but I took my first route to school this past Friday. It's about 10.2 miles one way, which made for a pretty decent (for me) ride. Since I'm new to commuting, I was wondering how everyone here deals with lane poitions on the roads and how well your experiences with other drivers have been. I ended up riding the sidewalk most of the route because I was really apprehensive on riding on the actual road. Going on and off the sidewalk was really starting to wear on me even with my HT MTB. Also, a question on how to deal with busy intersections? Do you just ride like you were a car? Thanks for all the input and help. I'm really excited about being able to make this true habit which will hopefully not lead to me getting run over. haha

mtbr member
    May 2005
    Depends how confortable/aggressive you are in traffic. You have every right to be in the car lanes, if there are no bike lanes. However, sometimes if its too crazy or you don't feel safe, just use crosswalks like a pedestrian.

Keep your head on a swivel at intersections, and always assume that cars don't see you.

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    get infront of cars at stoplights. they will see you and won't turn across you then. i tend to move quickly back nearer the roadside as soon as traffic starts moving again

mtbr member
    May 2006
    The biggest mistake on the road is trying to take up as little road as possible! This encourages cars to squeeze past when there isn't room. They also have a tendency to subconsciously classify you as a stationary object - like a pothole in the road surface, etc -. They go around you without realising how fast you're moving and then cut in on you.