Insurance on bikes

Printable View

• 06-02-2014
    krusej23
    Insurance on bikes
    Hi, I'm new to biking. My wife and I just bought bikes this weekend(2014 Trek 7.2 FX-Me, 2014 Trek Verve 2-Wife). I am just wondering what people do for insurance or have any advice. Are they covered much under a normal home owners insurance policy? They both cost around $600 and our deductible is $500. We use State Farm. Thanks!
  • 06-02-2014
    jeffscott
    Quote:

Originally Posted by krusej23 View Post
    Hi, I'm new to biking. My wife and I just bought bikes this weekend(2014 Trek 7.2 FX-Me, 2014 Trek Verve 2-Wife). I am just wondering what people do for insurance or have any advice. Are they covered much under a normal home owners insurance policy? They both cost around $600 and our deductible is $500. We use State Farm. Thanks!

I am covered...didn't know I was..

We had two bikes ripped off from the garage about 5 years ago...both with flat pedals...the other three had cleats.

Got reimbursed for damn near replacement value on $1500 and one $1800...less $500 bucks.

Check with your agent.
  • 06-02-2014
    krusej23
    That is good to know. I had emailed my agent right before I posted this but figured I would get some more personal experiences from others too. Thanks!
  • 06-02-2014
    Petti the Yeti
    Most homeowners and renters insurance will cover thefts from the property. Car insurance may cover thefts off of your racks, or from inside the car. Just depends on your coverage levels.
  • 06-04-2014
    Call_me_Tom
    Insurance on bikes
    I have USAA renters insurance & they cover my bikes & there's no deductible.
  • 06-04-2014
    teleken
    Your bikes are considered personal belongings so they should be covered by homeowners or renters insurance but the deductible applies. Your belongings should be covered anywhere including away from the home but they might only be covered for actual cash value not the cost to buy new (replacement cost coverage).