I'm New to Bike Commuting... and I'm Stupid- Mtbr.com
    Bloody Bastard

I'm New to Bike Commuting... and I'm Stupid

...so please forgive my ignorance in advance. I just ordered a new mountain bike that I plan to use for both commuting and riding trails on the weekends. I'm no serious weekend warrior mountain biker yet, and don't plan to do any serious hardcore riding off-road for now. I know it would be best to have a dedicated commuting bike, but how difficult/easy will it be to simply switch my knobby tires to slicks whenever I want to ride on the street as opposed to off-road? I'm already planning to switch out my front shocks for those with the lockout capability.

weirdo
    Hi. All in all, mtbs make for pretty good commuting bikes as long as the distance isn`t too much (you`ll have to decide for yourself what`s too much). Switching tires isn`t a big deal, but I personally wouldn`t care to do it every day. Figure it will probably take 15 to 20 minutes for both wheels. Other options would be to find a tire that works well enough for both the uses you want or to buy another set of wheels and switch wheels instead of just tires. The additional advantage to swapping wheels is that you can also change gear ratios while you`re at it. Maybe you could just keep changing tires for now and keep your eyes open for a good deal on a used wheel set. As far as changing out your fork- unless it`s going to be cheap or there`s some other reason you want a different one, I wouldn`t mess with it. The next guy might disagree, but I don`t think it makes all that much difference. Enjoy your ride!

Bloody Bastard
    Thank you for your thoughtful opinion, sir. I suppose I should give some background information here.