How much (about) do you guess your fully loaded rig weighs?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

How much (about) do you guess your fully loaded rig weighs?

I am fairly new to regular commuting, and though I have commuted before on a spotty basis, during those times, I would have to plan to leave most things one side of the commute or the other, not having a rack and using a road bike.

Now, with my rack and panniers, and especially when carrying my 15 inch MacBook, my rig feels super heavy! I may need to do some new planning to cut down on weight. i have had my work stuff including laptop and a file or two, work clothes and shoes, and lunch packed. Seems heavy!

Not sure how much the full rig weighs but it is a lot. How much do you guys carry and do you have any idea how much it weighs?

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Currently, I ride a roughly 25 pound mountain bike and carry 10-15 pounds. I would posit that, in that range, a backpack vs panniers will go a long ways in making your rig feel faster.

I only carry a folder or two, a computer, and lunch. If I needed to carry clothes, Iwould switch back to panniers. I think a less sporty ride is par for the course if you need to haul much.

Sent from a one-finger keyboard...pardon my autocorrect

mtbr member
    May 2006
    I only carry my phone keys and wallet back and forth....maybe once a week some clothes in a back pack.

I ride a 2005 RMB Element it weighs minimum 26 lbs....

In the winter it might get up to 33 lbs studs, more bigger lights.

REwlly can't see why anyone needs to carry a laptop around these days

one at one end the other at the other end.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffscott View Post
    I only carry my phone keys and wallet back and forth....maybe once a week some clothes in a back pack.

I ride a 2005 RMB Element it weighs minimum 26 lbs....

In the winter it might get up to 33 lbs studs, more bigger lights.

REwlly can't see why anyone needs to carry a laptop around these days