Help Make a 24 mile Commute Practical and Enjoyable- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2017

Cool-blue Rhythm Help Make a 24 mile Commute Practical and Enjoyable

Hello, noob here currently looking to buy a bike for commuting plus utility. I recently moved and am 24 miles from work in really bad driving traffic (SE PA) and would like to try to figure out how to commute via bicycle.

I have to carry a laptop and breakfast / lunch in to work, but imagine doing so via a big 15L seat bag (to avoid pannier racks). My dress code is business casual, wearing jeans and a polo style shirt most of the time.

Google says that it would take 2.5 hours each way, which seems like a bit much...although I have not tried it yet. I have no commitments after work which helps the cause.

I have the option of driving part of the way in and biking the rest. But I'm trying to avoid this, because I'd like to not hop in the car and be tempted to just drive the full way in.

A perfect solution would have been to ride to my Septa train station, hop on for a few stops with my bike, and ride the rest of the way in...but they don't allow bicycles during 'peak' hours.

Any and all suggestions are appreciated, including bike suggestions.

Thanks!
    Mike

Wierdo
    Dec 2005
    I did a 36 and then 40 mile RT commute every day, year round. My 40 miles RT commute was mildly hilly (about 1500 feet of climbing RT) and took about 1:10 to 1:15 each way. But it was all pavement.

An immediate question that comes to mind is: what's your route like? Roads? Trails? MUP? Flat? Hills? Gravel? Dirt? That information would dictate many other choices.

Great idea doing a partial train or drive commute. Let's you ease into such a bug commute.

Cycologist
    Do you have showers at work? That's going to be a big thing. If you do plan to drive sometimes, you could load up on food at work so you don't have to carry it. Or is there a grocery within walking distance of your office?