GT Transeo commuter build- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2011

GT Transeo commuter build

Just picked up this frame from Nashbar and want to build a commuter bike. I'm planning disc brakes,carbon fork,700c wheels,& 2-9 drivetrain. I'm new to building and have a few questions.
    1. Mountain bike running gear or road bike components?
    2.what is ment by 135mm wheel spacing? Im watching a couple cyclocross wheel sets on ebay and dont want to make a mistake by buying the wrong wheels. The Transeo is made for 700c. I want to run disc brakes because I have a set laying in the parts bin.

mtbr member
    Looks like a nice frame.

135mm spacing is basically the width of the rear hub, and your frame needs to match that.

Nashbar says the Transeo has 130mm spacing, which is a pretty typical for roadbikes. 135mm is more typical for mountainbikes.

Bicycle Frame/Hub Spacing
    (In that Sheldon Brown article he talks a bit about spreading the frame - you don't want to do that, because your frame is aluminum.)

Basically, you need a rear wheel with 130mm spacing.

oops, and I just saw your other thread: http://forums.mtbr.com/wheels-tires/...et-804798.html

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    Sounds like a nice build.

My $0.02 on your questions:

1. Depends on your local terrain, but if the bike is only going to be used to commute on the road, I would say go with a road drive train.

2. 135mm is the width of the rear triangle where the hub of the wheel goes and 135 I believe is more of a mountain bike spacing and I think 130mm is road. Be careful when selecting a CX wheel set as I believe a lot of them run 130mm. I think you should be able to run any 29er wheel set as a 700c wheel.

That's all I've got, I am sure others will chime in.

*edit* looks like newfangled beat me to it! lol
    "I have one speed. I have one gear: Go." -- Charlie Sheen

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    Thanks for he help fellas... Yes this will be road only.

Fat-tired Roadie